Under the Knife with VNS

In the past 10 years I have tried 12 different medications for my epilepsy. That doesn’t include the meds or therapies to counter the side effects of the anti-consultant drugs. Currently I take 4 meds for the seizures, 1 for the depression that commonly accompanies Epilepsy, 1 to control my anxiety and panic attacks that can trigger seizures, 1 to help me sleep at night because my meds cause insomnia, and the occasional CBD oil. That should control them, right? Nope. Recently my Epileptologist discussed VNS therapy with me. I had never even heard of it or researched anything about it because it involves surgery and I was always told that with my kind of Epilepsy that surgery isn’t an option.

What is VNS? It’s a Vagus Nerve Stimulator that works kind of like a Pacemaker but for your brain. It’s a magnetic device that is implanted in your chest and then a wire runs from the device up to your Vagus Nerve in your neck and wraps around it. Your Vagus Nerve serves to send signals from your brain to the rest of your body. The VNS sends a sort of shock wave from the device to your brain to regulate your brain waves and HOPEFULLY reduce your seizures. It’s programmed by your neurologist to go off at certain time frames and at a certain frequency. Everybody is different as far as the amount and how often that people need so like your meds it’s kind of a crapshoot where you keep adjusting until hopefully something works. It doesn’t work for everybody. Generally it doesn’t stop your seizures altogether but many people can at least reduce the amount of meds they take. There’s quite a bit more involved but that’s a VNS in a nutshell.

I decided to give it a try since I have almost exhausted my options with meds. My surgery is scheduled for this Friday morning and I feel both nervous and excited. I really won’t know if it is working for me for many months but I am cautiously optimistic. The surgery involves a slice in my chest and a slice in my neck and the implantation of the device. The riskiest part of the surgery is the potential of damaging the carotid or the vocal cords since they are so close to the Vagus Nerve. The implant will most likely alter my voice but cuts, wound healing, scars, and a change in my voice is so much better compared to what I go through right now.

I will be sure to update on the progress of my surgery and the VNS as well as record and post some videos. Fingers crossed!

Leave a comment