Post-Op Follow Up and Other Fun Things

Today I had my post-op appointment to check the progress of my healing and my newly placed VNS. With traffic the hospital is about an hour away from my house so I really only like to make that trek if the appointment is productive. The last time I saw this NP for my pre-op appointment I was not impressed. I didn’t care for her bedside manner and she made me feel like I was a burden to her time. She also gave me a LOT of misinformation about my surgery and my healing process which went against everything my surgeon told me as well as everything I had read. Today during my appointment she was more worthless than the first time I saw her. She didn’t even look at my incisions. She came in and asked me if I had any fevers since the surgery, didn’t look at my surgical sites at all, and then said “ok you’re good to go. We will see you in 7-9 years when it’s time to change your battery”. I had a few questions for her regarding the scar on my neck as it has a few large lumps in it. She brushed off my questions and went on with her day. I spent more time in the waiting room than in my appointment. But the good news is that my wounds look so much better after only 2 1/2 weeks!

I have another appointment next week to get it adjusted again to the .5 setting. I’m interested to see the difference in how the device feels when it goes off.

I had a seizure yesterday. I don’t at all expect that my VNS will help control them for quite some time. I woke up feeling really tired and worn down. I assumed that it was from traveling. I slept for most of the day but it happened in my sleep. That’s not really unusual for my seizures. I just really hate when it happens because I feel horrible for the remainder of the day. I did feel fine this morning though.

I didn’t mention in my last few posts that our car got hit on Sunday. It really wasn’t that bad… more annoying than anything. A lady was pulling out of a parking space and we were right behind her. She didn’t look so she smashed right into the car. The passenger door won’t open and there is quite a bit of structural damage to the passenger side. Everybody was ok except I realized later that the seatbelt pushed into my incision areas and made them agitated. It’s really just a pain to deal with at this point.

I just went to the grocery store to stock my fridge and pantry with Keto friendly foods. I was planning to start back yesterday but after my seizure my daughter convinced me that Golden Oreos and Chips would make me feel better. I gave in to peer pressure. I will probably cook a non Keto dinner for my family tonight and tomorrow I will continue to get carbs out of my house and make meal plans. Then we will get back on the train on Friday. I’m really excited. It does take a lot of planning but I know it will help me in so many ways.

When I started the Keto way of eating the first time I was so overwhelmed by finding recipes that my family would want to eat. Here are a few resources and cookbooks that I found that were SUPER helpful!

Keto for Beginners… and it’s less than $7 on Amazon!

Crockpot Recipes for those Slow Cooker and Instant Pot lovers!

Cookbook for those on the go. Recipes with only 5 ingredients!

500 great Keto Recipes

Fat Bombs are Seriously THE BOMB. Recipes for great variety for these snacks to help get your fat intake up.

Leave a comment